A map of the world

tsspivetOne of the featured books in the next issue of BookPage is Reif Larsen’s amazing, inventive, illustrated debut novel, The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet. Crammed with sidebars, footnotes, maps, detailed diagrams, signs, songs and genealogical charts, T.S. Spivet is an explosion of creativity, a book so bizarre that it might hold your attention even without the complex coming-of-age story at its center. Twelve-year-old T.S. is a map-making prodigy who gets the call of a lifetime at his family’s Montana ranch: he’s been selected by the Smithsonian to receive its “prestigious Baird Award for the popular advancement of science.” T.S. sets out alone for Washington, D.C. to pick up his prize, and the chronicle of his journey—real and metaphorical—is a tale to savor.

In our first ever Book Case giveaway, we have two hardcover copies of The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet for our adventurous readers. To enter, leave a comment (by April 24) that includes the title of your favorite coming-of-age novel.

UPDATE: This contest has ended (congrats to winners Tina and Diane!) but feel free to join the discussion by telling us about your coming-of-age favorite.

38 Responses to A map of the world

  1. Terri says:

    My current favorite (I’m a high school librarian so the list constantly changes) coming-of-age novel is Suzanne Collins book, The Hunger Games.

  2. Rosemary Conor says:

    One of my favorite coming of age novels is Postcards From No Man’s Land by Aiden Chambers. A YA title that can crossover to adult interest. It alternates between two stories; comtemporarily, seventeen-year-old Jacob visits a daunting Amsterdam at the request of his English grandmother–and historically, nineteen-year-old Geertrui relates her experience of British soldiers’s attempts to liberateHolland from its German occupation.

  3. Ti says:

    My favorite is A Separate Peace by John Knowles.

    • Lynn says:

      Ti, this is one of my personal favorites, too — so glad you mentioned it. I haven’t read it since high school though, and I wonder how it would hold up on re-reading.

  4. robyn says:

    she’s come undone is undeniably one of my most favorite books ever, and certainly my favorite coming of age novel. it’s the only book i ever read that oprah recommended and i’ve recommended it since. unforgettable.

  5. Teresa says:

    I tend to like more gentle coming-of-age stories; it’s scary enough being a teenager emerging as an adult without feeling extra traumatized from a book. So, my favorites are: Little Women, and Betsy and the Great World (by Maud Hart Lovelace)

  6. Diane La Rue says:

    My favorite coming of age books include Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver, She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb and The Center of Everything by Laura Moriarty. They are all powereful, thought-provoking books.

  7. Marie says:

    My favourite coming-of-age novel is “Catcher in the Rye”.

    I love quirky books and would love to read “The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet” by Larsen.


  8. naylorreunion says:

    My favorite coming of age books are pretty much classics. Little Women, Anne of Green Gables (series), The Narnia Series.

  9. Rachel says:

    Paper Towns by John Green!!

  10. Jon says:

    There are many favourites that frequently get the nod but few have heard of Mystic Pig by the poet Richard Katrovas – a coming-of-age novel that’s also a coming-of-middle-age novel. Transcendent; definitely my favourite.

  11. JLS Hall says:

    My favorite coming-of-age novel will probably always be “Huck Finn,” but I also love “To Kill a Mockingbird.” “T.S. Spivet” sounds really intriguing. Thanks for the chance to win!

    • Lynn says:

      Another great choice. I named my puppy after Scout so you can guess where I fall on the Mockingbird fan scale.

  12. Erica says:

    I have to second Robyn and say She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb. Dolores Price is one of my favorite characters in contemporary lit.

  13. Emily says:

    “To Kill a Mockingbird” is my choice. What a great thing to love your father and then to see him in a whole new way.

  14. Amy says:

    I’d have to add votes for To Kill a Mockingbird, as well as A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I just about wore out my copy of the latter reading it while growing up.

  15. Dan Vaughn says:

    I loved “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” by CS Lewis. It is a coming of age book that is directly tied to my own coming of age. This book, TS Spivet, sounds very interesting.

  16. Leslie Shortlidge says:

    My favorite coming of age novel is “Kidnapped” by R.L. Stevenson. It’s probably mostly thought of as a boy’s adventure book, but the main character certainly grows up.

  17. Lauren says:

    A personal favorite: Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides.

  18. mindy says:

    mine would be catcher in the rye although it has been years since i read it thanks for the giveaway

  19. Lesly Orf says:

    I love She’s Come Undone. It was a very great read. Thanks for the giveaway.

  20. Kathy D says:

    I guess it would be “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” by CS Lewis

  21. christina singer says:

    i love “she’s come undone”. thanks for the giveaway

  22. Valerie says:

    I emjoyed jane eyre

  23. Kim V says:

    She’s Come Undone would be my fave coming of age novel.
    Thanks for giveaway!

  24. Nicole D. says:

    My favorite is She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb – beautiful book.

  25. wendy wallach says:

    I fell in love with “City of Embers” when I first read it.

    madamerkf at aol dot com

  26. SANDY says:

    catcher in the rye and 1989 were mine growing up

  27. Sharold says:

    I will have to say Catche rin the Rye. Boy it has been years since I read that.

  28. Becky says:

    My favorite coming of age book is That was Then, This is Now, by S.E. Hinton. Now my kids are reading it. Thanks for the giveaway.


  29. Vicki says:

    It is too hard to choose just one. I’d have to agree with all who said “Catcher in the Rye,” “To Kill a Mockingbird,” and “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.” But my all-time favorite book, which is still my favorite after many times of re-reading, is “Pride and Prejudice.”

  30. Danielle says:

    My favorites would probably be Ursula K. LeGuin’s Earthsea books and “Slake’s Limbo” by Felice Hoffman.

  31. Leslie S. says:

    I like more kid books(could not tell you the last time I read a grown-up book).We read the Junie B.Jones books around here or R.L.Stine.Thanks!

  32. Andy says:

    I am really looking forward to the book.

    My favourite coming of age book – Lord of The Flies !!!

  33. April Hawkins says:

    I would have to have a toss up between To Kill A Mockingbird and perhaps, Middlesex- in a way. As a child, always enjoyed anything by Judy Blume. It answered a lot of questions I had about everything.

  34. Pam Cherundolo says:

    Add me to the ranks with To Kill A mockingbird fans.

  35. Rebecca Graham says:

    I would have to pick A Separate Peace.

  36. MiChelle says:

    oh, I do like Separate Peace. but I’m going to have to choose Gish Jen’s Mona in the Promised Land. it’s hilarious for one thing, and also deals with adolescents of different cultures.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

