June sneak peek, and a contest

Tomorrow, BookPageXTRA subscribers will get a look at what’s coming up in the next issue of BookPage (are you one of them?). Until then, we’re serving up a few tantalizing quotes from some June BookPage reviews to you Book Case readers. Leave a comment by Tuesday, May 19, saying which book you most want to read, and why, for a chance to win all four novels.* Ready, set, read! [We have a winner! Congrats to April Hawkins.]


“Satisfying on so many levels, See’s latest is above all a confirmation of unbreakable family bonds, as two Shanghai girls survive seemingly insurmountable setbacks, both at home and abroad.” —Deborah Donovan

The City & the City is a murder mystery, old-fashioned in its way, narrated by a tough-talking police investigator and layered with all the shadow and menace of a film noir. . . . a tightly plotted, thoroughly engaging read, at turns beguiling and revelatory.” —Jedediah Berry

“Pelecanos has once again crafted a genre-transcending novel of rage and redemption guaranteed to appeal to a broad-spectrum audience.” —Bruce Tierney

“By the time we meet Molly Divine Marx in the opening pages of The Late, Lamented Molly Marx, she is dead. But that by no means detracts from the many charms of Sally Koslow’s wonderful new novel.” —Amy Scribner

* Since we’re sending out four hardcovers, this contest is limited to North American residents. But readers around the world are still welcome to comment!

30 Responses to June sneak peek, and a contest

  1. Linda White says:

    Ah, Trisha! Fun contest! I hope I win… And while these books all sound delicious for very different reasons, the one that got me the most excited was the new Lisa See book. I have absolutely loved her since Snow Flower, and I had the pleasure of seeing her at a BEA breakfast a couple years ago in NYC. What she goes through to find these stories and what the stories are based on is amazing. I have no doubt that her new book is meticulously researched, and well written with compelling, true-to-life characters. Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Erica says:

    I definitely want to read Shanghai Girls, since I’m of Chinese descent and would love to read a novel about China! :) Cool contest!

  3. Lauren says:

    I must say I am the most intrigued by the review for The Late, Lamented Molly Marx – it just sounds unexpected and appealing to me!

  4. pat says:

    I would love to read all 4 of these books, but detective stories always intrigue me, so I would first want to read The City & the City. I love watching film noir and love to read books in that category too. Thanks for pointing out all of these. I’m waitlisting all of them at my library.

  5. Melissa Mc says:

    Love your blog…love the contest!

    I’ve read two of Lisa See’s previous novels…Snow Flower and Peony…they made great book discussions at our book group. Can’t wait to read a third.

    But, The Late, Lamented Molly Marx has totally piqued my interest! A dead character in the opening pages??!! Can’t wait!

  6. Kathleen says:

    I’ve alreay read (and loved) Shaghai Girls. It was an amazing novel about culture and family. I always expect great things from Lisa See, and this novel surpassed those expectations. I am also curious to read The Late Lamented molly Marx. That concept of that novel sounds really intresting.

  7. Jennifer M. says:

    I am very interested in The Late, Lamented Molly Marx. The premise is very intriguing and I’m interested in reading the whole story!

    Thanks for the contest!

  8. Alice says:

    I will read Lisa See’s novel, Shanghai Girls. Am a huge fan of literature from and about the Far East and a follower of Lisa See’s. I love the way she can bring her Far Eastern roots into her writing, taking me (a Westerner from a small Kentucky town) back to a different place and time. Reading authors like See is the best way to travel to exotic places and times.

    I’ll be the first one on our library’s wait list for this one.

  9. Natalie Voldstad says:

    It’s got to be Lisa See’s latest, Shanghai Girls, for me.

    I’ve read and enjoyed her books, both alone at home and with a long-running book discussion group. The chance to enjoy her latest is enticing!

  10. TJ Johns says:

    I think all of the books sound interesting in their own right, but I would have to start with The Late, Lamented Molly Marx. If the book is written from the victims thoughts, it will pull the reader into the story and take them along the journey such as in The Lovely Bones.
    If not, I am interested in meeting Molly Marx however she is introduced!!!
    Thank you, TJ

  11. April Hawkins says:

    The Late, Lamented Molly Marx sounds fascinating! I have always wondered if our loved ones watch us after they are gone as we deal with the grief and hurt we feel. It’s such an unusual style of writing- dealing with the afterlife- much like The Lovely Bones. Can’t wait for all of these exciting titles!

  12. Debbie Bell says:

    A lot of times I base my thoughts on a book by the cover picture. If I did that here I would have to go with Shanghai Girls, but The Late, Lamented Molly Marx sounds like a lot of fun.

  13. Janet Stewart says:

    The City & the City because I was lucky enough to get ARC’s of Molly Marx and Shanghai Girls and because an old fashioned murder mystery is just what I need every now and then. If I win, I will give Molly Marx and Shanghai Girls to my sister.

  14. I’d love to read The Late, Lamented Molly Marx: A Novel! Molly sounds like she has spunk and won’t even let death get in her way watching over her loved ones! And I like a girl with spunk! What a great giveaway! Please count me in!

  15. Darlene DeRyke says:

    All the titles sound like delicious reading but I would really enjoy the new Lisa See book. Such a fantastic prize package! Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  16. Tressy Hart says:

    “By the time we meet Molly Divine Marx in the opening pages of The Late, Lamented Molly Marx, she is dead. But that by no means detracts from the many charms of Sally Koslow’s wonderful new novel.” —Amy Scribner

    Wow – does this mean we are going to have a ghost narrator? Or will the story be told in flashbacks? I love China Melville as an author and am eager to read her latest (and sure to be greatest), but this review has my curiosity peaked.

  17. J Mitchell says:

    These books all sound quite delicious and different than the ones I’ve read lately, though I think The City & the City is the one I want to read most. I’ve wanted a new and different (but good) murder mystery for awhile now. Most of those I considered but declined to purchase look like more of the same ol’ same ol’… The City & the City seems to have promise those others lack.

  18. P Murphy says:

    All the title look great but I have to go with The City and The City. I am a mystery fan and enjoy the “hard-boiled” detective and film noir. This looks as though it might be a good read.

    • Trisha says:

      Yes, the premise of THE CITY & THE CITY is really different. It’s a blend of mystery and fantasy/sci-fi, so it’s a bit more than the quote would lead you to believe (though it’s explained in the full review).

  19. Dicksie Milburn says:

    I’ve been so intrigued by the concept of The Late Lamented Molly Marx…as another reader mentioned, I’ve often wondered if sometimes we’re being watched….or perhaps someone up there is saying..”I told her so” when I do something I remember a long gone family member said “be sure to do it this way”….
    Sounds like a real fun read.

  20. NM Sanders says:

    All four sound interesting. The book I am looking forward to reading most is ……The City & the City because I am just an old-fashioned murder mystery kind of gal! :)

  21. Terri says:

    Mieville’s UnLundon was so cleverly written so I’m most interested in The City and the City. I think See’s Shanghai Girls will be really good, too.

  22. I plan to read them all. They sound delicious! I especially love Lisa See. Molly sounds wonderful, too.

  23. Meghan says:

    Of the four, The Late, Lamented Molly Marx by Sally Koslow would be my first read, though the others all appear interesting as well. I find the premise of Koslow’s book intriguing and am curious to see how it will play out.

  24. Trisha says:

    Hmm. So far SHANGHAI and MOLLY are in the lead, with CITY a distant third. I’m surprised there aren’t more Pelecanos fans out there! There’s still one more day to share your favorite.

  25. Vicki says:

    I got an ARC of Shanghai Girls and it is super. Almost as good as Peony in Love. So I guess I’m most looking forward to Molly Marx.

  26. Cindy says:

    Molly Marx has me intrigued. Love the name and the author. Can’t wait!

  27. Enid says:

    I am so anxious to read TheLate Lamented MOlly Marx. I think I identfy!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

