Stephen King’s most ambitious work yet

Legions of Stephen King fans are in for a treat November 10th, when Scribner will release Under the Dome—an 1,136 page “tour de force” from the master storyteller.

From the Scribner catalog:dome
“On an entirely normal, beautiful fall day in Chester’s Mill, Maine, the town is inexplicably and suddenly sealed off from the rest of the world by an invisible force field. Planes crash into it and fall from the sky in flaming wreckage, a gardener’s hand is severed as “the dome” comes down on it, people running errands in the neighboring town are divided from their families, and cars explode on impact. No one can fathom what this barrier is, where it came from, and when—or if—it will go away.”

Featuring more than 100 characters facing a menacing supernatural element in their small Maine town, early reads are comparing Under the Dome to King’s classic epic, The Stand. We haven’t gotten an advanced copy yet, but I’m certainly on the look out!

What is your favorite Stephen King novel?

19 Responses to Stephen King’s most ambitious work yet

  1. Ti says:

    The Stand is my fave by far. I don’t know how King kept all those characters straight and I could totally see something like that happening in today’s day and age.

  2. edifanob says:

    THE STAND is a tough book. But I have to admit that UNDER THE DOME sounds very promising.

  3. Geri Ness says:

    Another can of refried beans. Familiar characters? Tick. Familiar everyday conflicts? Tick. Familiar twists? Tick. Let me guess – it will be a mix between Needful Things and Storm Of The Century, with some bits from The Mist thrown in. Why bother buying? I say, recommended to completists only.

  4. K. L. Romo says:

    It does sound very intriguing, but I actually saw this same plot on an episode of The Simpsons the other night. (Of course, King’s version will probably be much more detailed)

  5. I’m an old-school King fan. My faves are “The Shining” and “The Dead Zone” – no contest.

  6. Cindy Jones says:

    Stephen King is the greatest contemporary writer of our time. He dazzles. His characters are drawn from life, they walk and talk. I believe it was Mr. Knog who said that a short story is like a kiss and a novel is like an affair. The only thing I hate about Mr. King’s books– is that they have an ending. So many of them I wish would go on forever, just because I love the people.

    My favorites? The list is legion. Let’s see, Duma Key, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, The Green Mile, Neeful Things, Salems Lot, Carrie,– oh I love them all. He is the King.

  7. Roland says:

    Man i’m waiting this book from 2008! Why November? I really loved Duma Key and Lisey’s Story… I heard that Dan Simmons already read it and found it awesome an epic like The Stand! Let’s hope so.

  8. Vivi Anna says:

    Woot! Can’t wait. I’m a King fan going on twenty six years. And I loved The Stand.

  9. Pete says:

    I love The Gunslinger, The Shining, The Stand…

    However, there is a graphic novel called Girls by the Luna Brothers first published in 2005 that is very similar to this brief description. Small town enveloped in impenetrable dome (actually a sphere) cutting people off from their families and setting everyone against each other until they discover the real menace…

  10. Roland says:


    Under the Dome was written in the ’80s (under the name “The Cannibals”), by the way the idea of the city under the dome is very old, even the simpsons made a movie about it.

  11. Nicole says:

    Simpsons?? Whatever.
    My all time favorites include my first, Christine; the best, The Stand; the epic, Drawing of the Three: the latest, Lisey’s Story.
    This sure beats waiting for another Twilight book to come out.

  12. […] strong fall shaping up., with the return of many favorite authors. We’ve already posted about Stephen King, Pat Conroy, Dan Brown, Barbara Kingsolver and A.S. Byatt. Now Diana Gabaldon enters the list in […]

  13. christie61 says:

    I could never get through The Stand. I just couldn’t keep the characters straight and found the book frustrating. My favourite King book is ‘It’. I carried that book around everywhere until I finished it…and then I cried at the end. Say what you want about King, he gets some things (like childhood friendships!) absolutely right.

  14. Karlton says:

    My favorites are “The Dead Zone” and “Misery”. I also recently enjoyed “Duma Key.” I can’t wait for “Under the Dome.”

  15. David Stock says:

    Whoa! Interesting. Can’t wait for November 10!

  16. Cattt says:

    Dang and I did read The Stand when I was a kid! Thanks for the update!

  17. I also just wrote a post on Under the Dome, and I can’t wait! My favorite King book might be The Dead Zone.

  18. […] portada: bookpage Imagen S. King: CyberGhostface en Wikipedia Temas: king, Novela de terror, stephen king Añadir […]

  19. Jack3d says:

    What’s up, I recently started reading your blog – thanks for the good work. Just wanted to let you know that it’s not showing up properly on the BlackBerry Browser (I have a Bold). Either way, I am now on the RSS feed on my laptop, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

