Win a free copy of Conroy!

When we blogged about South of Broad, Pat Conroy’s new novel, back in April, we were thrilled with the huge reader response we got.

Our readers commented to tell us how much they love Conroy and how excited they are for his new book. (To check out my original blog post, click here).

Today South of Broad goes on sale—and to celebrate, we are offering free copies to two lucky Book Case readers. All you have to do is comment on this posting by Friday, August 14. Tell us what your favorite Conroy novel is, or why you’re looking forward to reading South of Broad. We’ll select the winners at random. And don’t forget to check out our August cover story on Conroy and South of Broad here.

Good luck! And happy reading!

47 Responses to Win a free copy of Conroy!

  1. I would very much like a copy of this book. If I’m not chosen, maybe you would consider signing me up as an advance copy reader and reviewer.

  2. Aimee C says:

    I can’t wait to read this book because I LOVE Charleston and want to have my own piece of it here in Philly. Plus Conroy’s writing is just plain gorgeous!

  3. Karen says:

    I’m new to Pat Conroy but after reading the cover story you posted – I’d really like to give her a shot and this story sounds absolutely amazing.

  4. Tricia Munson says:

    I am anxious to read Pat Conroy’s new novel. I have followed his books for some time. My son is a Marine and especially liked his stories about growing up as a Marine Corps son since he is a father of a young son.
    Thanks for the opportunity.


  5. JoAnn says:

    I love every book of Conroy’s, starting with his first, “The Water is Wide”, which was made into the movie “Conrack” way back in the early 1970s. I have even read (and own) his book “The Boo” which most people have never heard of. He wrote it in 1970 and it is a biographical portrait of the Colonel in charge of the Citadel when Conroy went there. It took me a long time to track it down!

    So, as usual, I am really looking forward to reading SOUTH OF BROAD.

  6. Sharon Castleberry says:

    We are planning a trip to Charleston next month and I am hoping to have a copy of this book in hand. I would love to have one to take along. Pat Conroy always seem to be able to make the reader feel the humidity.

  7. The Prince of Tides was my favorite though it’s hard to choose just one because they are all wonderful books. How could I not be excited about this new one?! I’m really looking forward to reading it.

  8. Melissa Mc says:

    I’ve never read anything by Pat Conroy, but would love to start with this one!

  9. Cecilia says:

    Favorite Conroy? Beach Music! Oh, and Prince of Tides! And The Water is Wide, of course. Cannot wait to read the latest. Conroy rocks my socks!

  10. Krista says:

    I would LOVE this book! It sounds so great, and Charleston is kind of a beautiful and magical place. Beach Music would have to be my favorite!

  11. kitty says:

    I LOVE Pat Conroy- Beach Music is me all time favorite- well, after Gone With the Wind, and The Water is Wide has got to be the best about teaching ever. I love his wif, Cassandra King, too1

  12. Claudia says:

    Any book that highlights the south is a must-read. The review gives such a good overall thumbnail sketch that I will be looking into finding this book on my nightstand.

  13. Kim G says:

    The Prince of Tides is one of my all-time favorite books. The way the twins survive their childhood (and their relationship as adults) moves me deeply.

    I also loved The Great Santini and The Water is Wide — and The Lords of Discipline for their depth and intensity.

  14. Jodie says:

    I am very much looking forward to reading this book. I’ve pre-ordered a copy from a local book store and can’t wait to pick it up.

    Beach Music is my favorite Pat Conroy book….so far.

  15. Ruth says:

    Have read all of Conroy’s boooks — my favorite is The Water Is Wide.
    Anxiously awaiting South of Broad.

  16. Lynn says:

    Not only do I love Pat Conroy, but I make sure all serious readers that I meet know about him!!

    The Prince of Tides is my favorite Conroy and also in my ‘Top 5 of All Time’.

  17. Joan says:

    Loved Prince of Tides and would love to read Pat Conroy’s newest book.

  18. Bob Hennessy says:

    I have just finished reading My Losing Season and loved it. In full disclosure, Pat and I were at the Citadel in 1966-1967 but he played basketball while I played “usher” to make some extra spending money. I never met him but have “found” him now through his books. I am looking forward to reading the newest installment. Go Dogs!

  19. Christy H. says:

    I haven’t had the chance to read anything by Pat Conroy . . . although I’ve heard wonderful things about his novels from friends. I’d love to start with SOUTH OF BROAD!

  20. Bev Bourne says:

    My fave was Prince of Tides.

    I’m anxious to read South of Broad.

  21. LINDA C says:

    Always read Pat Conroy! Can’t wait to start South of Broad.

  22. Darlene says:

    I am looking forward to reading Pat Conroy’s newest novel. My favorite is the Prince of Tides which I could not “put down” while reading. Such a gifted writer!

  23. Katie says:

    Can’t wait to start reading South of Broad–Charleston is a little piece of heaven on earth. Terrific piece on Conroy, Abby!

  24. Lynne says:

    I can’t wait to read the new book! Conroy is my favorite author and I love all of his works, but I think Lords of Discipline is my favorite. There is always so much to love about his books – the beauty of the language, the characters, the story….

  25. Jim says:

    Charleston is one of my favorite cities, and I’m curious to see Conroy’s treatment of it. Thanks.

  26. I love Pat Conroy, which was surprising for me. His Lords of Discipline was my favorite as well, after being assigned for summer reading my junior year of high school.

  27. Ellen Sugg says:

    I fell in love with Conroy’s writing with The WATER IS WIDE and still regret not buying a copy of THE BOO when I had the chance decades ago. I finished LORDS OF DISCIPLINE in one sitting, laughing and crying. I saved PRINCE OF TIDES for a vacation, so I could savor it. Even the was read cover to cover before I tried any of the yummy recipes. I know that with SOUTH OF BROAD, my favorite author will take me back to a favorite city for yet another delicious visit.

  28. Shelley Quezada says:

    This is such exciting news. Pat Conroy hits on all the buttons for story, character, language and place. I can’t wait to read this new book!

  29. Jo says:

    I saw him on a talk show the other day, and the book looks fascinating.

  30. Patricia Hill says:

    I an really looking forward to this book and would love to win. Prince of Tides is one of my favorites.

  31. Hayden says:

    Okay, so I’m evil. I’ve not read Pat Conroy. So make me a new fan. Tell me why I’ll love his stuff. I’m willing to give him a try. But a warning–I find literary fiction often cloying and overhyped and I prefer a definitive upbeat ending. If the ending is “And they all died” or “He left, poorer but wiser,” or “She never understood why he did it…” I get enough of that in real life and don’t need or wnat to lose myself in someone else’s miseries. Can I escape with Conroy?

    • Abby says:

      You’ll love him because he’s one of the best writers out there. I find myself reading and then re-reading his sentences just because they are so amazingly beautiful. But if you are looking for happy endings, I can’t guarantee that with Conroy. There is always growth and resolution – but not in the neat little bow you might want. Still, I think everyone should read at least one of his books! They are too good to miss!

  32. Abby says:

    Congratulations to Marjorie Cunningham and Joan – our two winners! Thanks for commenting everyone!

  33. Lela says:

    Preordered a copy…but would be glad to have one as a gift. Conroy’s writing and life are gifts. Subject of this one peaks my interest because it takes place in the time I grew up and we came of age in similar ways

  34. GAIL STARKIE says:

    I have read all of COnrads books and I listened to them on tape as well when commutung to my teaching job.My favorite, which I assigned to my undergraduate education students each semester was The Water Was Wide,naturally. I was thrilled when we traveled South with our boat ten years ago and passed the area where Conrad had commuted by boat to his job. What a ride that must have been in the winter! I have read all his books and have reserved this pe but would love to have my very own copy t o add to my collection.

  35. K. Martin says:

    Due to my ongoing love affair with the Low Country, I always look forward to the writings of the man most familiar with it. Ever since Prince of Tides, I anticipate anything Mr. Conroy with which Mr. Conroy gifts us.

  36. Laurie Blum says:

    My all time favorite of books by Pat Conroy is Beach Music, which starts off in Rome, Italy, where we meet our narrator and protagonist, Jack McCall, who has run away from his large southern family and his problems to raise his daughter, Leah. We learn early on that Jack’s wife, Shyla committed suicide in S. Carolina by jumping from a bridge five years prior to the opening of the novel. Jack, as would be expected, is torn up over Shyla’s death & can’t come to terms with it. Shyla’s suicide, the reasons for it, & Jack’s search for these answers become the main glue to hold Beach Music together, through all of it’s long flashbacks and sometimes seemingly irrelevant present time stories. This story is amazing, one to be re-read!
    I look forward to his latest work.

  37. Paula Patterson says:

    I have read several of his books. However, Prince of Tides is still my fav.

  38. Irene Ronnander says:

    I’ve not read any of his novels. I’d like an opportunity to start with a “freebie”!

  39. Jackie Smith says:

    I would love to win this book…..have heard so much about it! Thanks for the chance to win.
    Jackie Smith

  40. Karen Griffith says:

    I love everything Pat Conroy has ever written. After reading The Prince Of Tides, I went back and read every other novel he ever wrote. I particularly loved The Water is Wide. The reason I love reading Conroy is that after reading one of his books, I have experienced vicariously every imaginable emotion. Though I (and his other fans) have to wait years for each novel, it’s worth the wait. He always delivers the goods!

  41. Steven A. Duex says:

    My favorite Conway novel is “Beach Music.” I have been a huge fan of Pat Conways for some time and am looking forward to reading “South of Broad.”

  42. Edna Coombs says:

    I just can’t wait to read how is going to describe the most common items – and say to myself – wow, why didn’t I think of that? That is described perfectly! Or how he explains an atmosphere – and plop – you are sitting in the middle of feeling that breeze on your face. He’s incredible – especially about the Low Country. Just incredible!

  43. Eileen Ferris says:

    My favorite Conroy novel is The Prince of Tides. The sense of mystery and loss is such a contrast to the peace and beauty of South carolina. I want to win a copy of his latest. Thanks.

  44. Ron Roseborough says:

    I haven’t read any of Mr. Conroy’s books before, although I have certainly heard of them. I would like to win a copy of his latest book and see for myself what all the talk is about. Thanks

  45. Sally Ciattei says:

    I read all of Pat Conroy’s books, so I am looking forward sink into this one too. I am 76 years old and have been reading all my life. I fall in love with some of my books and then I read them again at a later date. I know I should be moving more, but once I get into a book, I cannot put it down. Thanks for listening.

  46. Barbara Silverman says:

    Prince of Tides is my all-time favorite book. As I read it the first time, my poor husband had to hear most of it, as I would get to a passage and have to read it out loud to him and revel in the beauty of his writing. If I ever had to choose a book to have on a deserted island to read over and over again, it would be Prince of Tides. I would love to win a copy of South of Broad.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

