Diablo Cody + Sweet Valley High = ….. ?

Whvalleyhighether we loved it or hated it, many of us who grew up in the ’80s and ’90s will never forget Francine Pascal’s perennial middle school soap opera, Sweet Valley High. The series, which began in 1983, included over 150 books about the beautiful Wakefield Twins, Elizabeth and Jessica.

What it lacked in depth, the series made up for in romantic subplots, cat-fights and descriptive gems such as:

“Jessica stared at herself in the full-length mirror and saw a picture of utter heartbreak and despair. But what was actually reflected in the glass was about the most adorable, most dazzling sixteen-year-old girl imaginablesvh1.”

SVH fans may soon be able to see their favorite blue-eyed-blonde heroines on the big screen. On Tuesday, Hollywood trade paper Daily Variety reported that Diablo Cody (of Juno fame) has signed on to write a screenplay of the series.

Over the past couple of days, Cody’s Twitter page has been abuzz with reassurances for die-hard SVH fans. A recent tweet reports: “Attn. Sweet Valley residents: I’ll need your guidance in this process, so please keep in touch.” Or a comment that many readers can relate to: “Like most girls, I’m a Jelizabeth.” (Don’t most of us waver between identifying with nerdy Elizabeth or fun-loving Jessica?”)

In any case, Diablo Cody is certain to add a little spunk to a movie that could be (in the words of Jessica) “boring as butter” in the wrong hands.

Any readers have a shoebox full of SVH novels lurking in their closets? Or ideas about who should portray real-life Elizabeth and Jessica?

How about a notable SVH memory? As a flute player in 8th grade band class, I used to get scolded for reading Sweet Valley High (the “Senior Year” shoot-off) during long rests.

6 Responses to Diablo Cody + Sweet Valley High = ….. ?

  1. Steph says:

    I never got into Sweet Valley High for whatever reason, so I am personally holding out for every single Christopher Pike book to be made into films. I mean, vampires are hot now, so clearly they could do something with his “The Last Vampire” series, right? Of course, the one I’m most keen to see is clearly “Bury Me Deep”!

  2. CJ says:

    I l-o-v-e-d the SVH (and Sweet Valley Twins, and Sweet Valley University …) books when I was a child. I always wanted to be a cheerleader like Jessica, newspaper editor like Elizabeth and a “perfect size six” like both. (Instead I was a cheerleader, yearbook editor and … my own size!)

    After I worked my way through all of the Babysitters’ Club and Sweet Valley Twins books at my local library, I was ready to move on to SVH. The only problem: I was 9. The librarian said no. Mom said yes.

  3. Eliza says:

    I loved them, too! I always wanted to write an “Eyes and Ears” column for the newspaper, just like Elizabeth…

  4. dottie says:

    Ooooh yeah. I have a trunk full of SVH and SVT books waiting for my imaginary future daughter. The more I think about the stories and characters, though, the less I want her reading them.

    My most notable SVT memory was reading the April Fool’s book (when they switch identities) in fifth grade long after the bell rang to start class. When my teacher caught me and told me to put it down in front of the entire class, I held up my finger in the “wait a second” gesture. I was almost done with the chapter! I have no idea how I did that because I was a super rule follower, but years later my teacher (Mrs. Cunningham!) told me that story and said she had to try not to laugh.

  5. […] For those of us born in the ’70s and ’80s, all this news about beloved teen series might be too much to handle. (In case you missed the updates, The Baby-Sitters Club is coming back and Sweet Valley High might be turned into a movie.) […]

  6. Ai~ says:

    I grew up on this series. There are not enough words to describe how much I love Jessica and Elizabeth. (Apparently owning the fanlisting for them is not enough!) I’m not crazy about a full-length feature film, so I hope Ms. Cody will do a great job (based on Juno’s success).

    Join the Sweet Valley Twins and Friends Fanlisting at http://twins.beatifique.org :)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

