Trick-or-treat: win “Nightlight”

A few weeks ago I posted about Nightlight, the parody of everyone’s favorite vampire love story. The completed book arrived at our office today, and in honor of Halloween (and because we need costume ideas), we will give it away to one creative reader.Nightlight a parody

I’m already cracking up after the first page of the parody, which includes the sentence: “I had a dejected, brooding expression on my face, and I could tell from the reflection in the window that it was also an intriguing expression.”

To win: In the comments section, give us an idea for a literary-themed Halloween costume. (I dressed up as Nancy Drew two years ago, so that’s out.) The winner will be our favorite, which I’ll announce on Thursday at 5 p.m.

And stay tuned, because we’ll have another spooky giveaway later in the week. While you wait, read our handwritten interview from Stephenie Meyer, author of the original Twilight.

14 Responses to Trick-or-treat: win “Nightlight”

  1. Ti says:

    You could dress as the Walmart ‘falling prices” happy face! You know, how they have been competing with Amazon lately? I know…horrible joke but it’s to win a parody so I thought maybe I could get away with it.

  2. Kerry says:

    Miss Marple! Or Poirot for the gentleman. I’m on an Agatha Christie kick lately…

  3. Erica says:

    Wear a purple hat, a purple wig, purple shirt, purple pants, purple gloves, purple socks, and purple shoes.

    If anyone asks, say you’re The Color Purple.

  4. Ron Roseborough says:

    Mark Twain, America’s humorist.

  5. WitchyEditor says:

    Rosamond from the Nate the Great series.

  6. Nadia says:

    Ignatius J. Riley, a sort of Don Quixote of the modern day.

  7. Erin says:

    I bet you could find an awesome wolf costume, make yourself a crown and scepter and be Max from Where the Wild Things Are! OR get a black jumper, a turtle and ride around on roller skates being Eloise!

  8. Mary says:

    One year I went as Pippi Longstocking – wear a plain blue dress that looks handmade with red patches (she used red when the blue fabric ran out), one brown sock and one black, and use pipe cleaners in each section of braid to get them to stick out.
    If you’re really brave, you can even dye your hair red.

  9. Go as Charlotte’s Web. The actual web. Black construction paper or shirt. Webbing. Some silver paint for SOME PIG and viola!

  10. If I got asked to attend a literary-themed Halloween party, I’d dress up as Slyvia Pat. Not only would I buy and wear the Sylvia Plath oven mitts from Augusten Burrough’s website, but I’d wear a box on my head that looked like an oven and it would have a door that that opened which would show my dead head inside it.

    I love Halloween and dress up every year. Fun contest idea!

  11. Trisha says:

    A friend of mine and her husband dressed up as Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald last year — literary, *and* they got to wear gorgeous flapper-era outfits.

  12. Eliza says:

    I will never be able to choose a favorite from these great ideas!

  13. jaidyn says:

    Dress up as edward cullen!just saying as an idea,get a Taylor Lautner life size cutout and put a team edward shirt on it!

    Im Team Edward!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

