The Hunger Games #3 arrives in August

Big news for Suzanne Collins fans: Last night it was announced that the third book in The Hunger Games trilogy will be published on August 24, 2010. In a press release, Ellie Berger, President of the Scholastic Trade Publishing division, commented that over 1.5 million copies of the first two books are in print in North America. No word yet on a title or plot details for book #3.

BookPage reviewer Deborah Hopkinson loved book one, The Hunger Games. She wrote: “Young adults will be riveted by Collins’ novel. (It kept this reviewer up until two a.m.) The Hunger Games combines elements of an intense survival adventure with a story of friendship and love. But the book is more than a page-turner with a strong, appealing heroine. The Hunger Games is a powerful and often disturbing story that is sure to spark intense discussion not just about Katniss Everdeen’s world—but about our own.”

Read about the author’s decision to write a trilogy; The Hunger Games movie adaptation; and more in this interview with Suzanne Collins.

Are you looking forward to the new book? Do you have any suggestions for the title?

23 Responses to The Hunger Games #3 arrives in August

  1. Linda Trzyna says:

    I began reading the series with my 12-year-old son, more for his interest than mine. I was surprised how quickly we both got into the book. The prose is deceptively simple. I think it’s genius the way the author envisioned a possible future for interactive and reality TV. I also love the way she enables the reader to understand more about the love triangle between Kat and her two male friends than Kat does herself. Yes, I’m looking forward to Book 3.

  2. Claudia says:

    This book was recommended to me because I had read the Gregor books that Suzanne Collins had written while I was still teaching. Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. I not sure I can wait until August for the next one.

  3. colby says:

    I first read the book when my brother brought it home from a book fair…at first i was reading only a chapter a day then it got to the point where i would have to be yelled at to put it down. This book is amazing and im really anticipating the third one. .

  4. kali says:

    This is my favorite book ever. The whole series is about her being the mockingjay, so i have a suggestion. Mockingjay. That should be they title. Plain and simple, Katniss IS the mockingjay. That says it all.

  5. Tech News says:

    My brother would love this blog post. We were just talking about this. lol

  6. […] The Hunger Games #3 arrives in August « The Book Case […]

  7. Blur Party says:

    The book´s name will be The Victors, and trying to figure out what will happen in basically impossible. The love triangle smudges my predictions up.

  8. Eli says:

    wow i really like this books. the third one would be a great bday presemt for me aug.24 cnat wait for it goota have it

  9. Alana Mautone says:

    As a science fiction reader of over 40 years I have to say The Hunger Games was one of my favorite books ever! I haven’t read the second book yet-but I look forward to reading that, and the third book.

  10. Destiny Avalos says:

    OMG I have to say that the books “Hunger Games” and “Catching Fire” have been THE best reads I’ve EVER had. I read an excessive amounts of books especailly in the summer and I gotta tell ya, these books are WAY better than the Harry Potter series. I thank you Suzanne Collins for these MAGNIFICENT reads and I very much look forward to the 3rd book.

  11. Janet says:

    I really enjoyed that post.I will be reading a lot more of this blog.But

  12. shelly says:

    this series is amazing found out the new book is called the victor comes out 24th Aug can’t wait excited and absolutly don’t know wat to expect Ahhhhhhhhh luv Peet xo

  13. Emily says:

    I know best books eva i can’t wait till the third one cames out yayayayayaya xx Kat

  14. shelly says:

    emily I toats agree with u hahahaha he’s so gorgous lol Peeta xxoxoxo i sugested this to one of my friends mum’s haven’t been up dated on whether she finds it intregin but think and hope she will x

  15. Emily says:


  16. Emily says:

    I am in lurve with peeta i mean who isnt hahahahahha

  17. shelly says:

    I know Gale has been her friend 4eva but she most def chooses peeta coz yer she loves gale but she’s not in love with him he is more like someone she can’t live without ,similar to twilight how she loves jacob n can’t live without him but edward she’s in luv with and would die if anything happened to him so really if u understand wat i’m sayin u’ll get this whole love triangle thingo with Katniss,Peeta,Gale + i think Gale has Madge as well x

  18. Very informative article. I’ve found your site via Google and I’m really happy about the information you provide in your articles. Btw your blogs layout is really messed up on the Kmelon browser. Would be really great if you could fix that. Anyhow keep up the good work!

  19. hg lover says:

    OMG I am in love with this series. I’m not the biggest reader-at least I didn’t used to be anyways. each book i read in a day ..which meant having to stay up all night….its called having a life and being a nerd at the same time. I am sooooo excited for the next book and i really really want to see the movie when it comes out in 2011. sooooo excited

  20. […] it is! In December we posted the news that The Hunger Games #3 will arrive on August 24, 2010, and asked readers for title […]

  21. Ginny says:

    I am so happy to see there is another book.
    I even got my daughter to read the first two, and she loved them.
    Suzanne Collins was a new author for us, before we found the Gregor the Overlander series and then more, more, more.

  22. Hi, maybe this post is not on topic but anyhow, i’ve been surfing around your website and it looks very superb. It is easy to see I’m building a new blog and I am hard-pressed to have it appear great, and provide really good articles. I have discovered a lot here and I look forward to more updates and will be back.

  23. Usman says:

    yayayayayaa i know i can’t wait till it comes

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

