Best of 2009: Top 10 Nonfiction

And finally, the last of our “Best of 2009” lists: nonfiction. This year’s picks include a little of everything, with an emphasis on memoir—it was a good year for getting personal.

Changing My Mind by Zadie Smith
Lit by Mary Karr
Louisa May Alcott by Harriet Reisen
Stitches by David Small
Strength in What Remains by Tracy Kidder
Googled by Ken Auletta
Manhood for Amateurs by Michael Chabon
The Age of Wonder by Richard Holmes
Home Game by Michael Lewis
The Secret Lives of Buildings by Edward Hollis

As always, share your picks in the comments. Is there something we missed?

14 Responses to Best of 2009: Top 10 Nonfiction

  1. Nadia says:

    I’m itching to read the Zadie Smith one. Its on my list of books to buy. I loved her fiction books and am looking forward to reading her essays. Stitches sounds good, too!

  2. Mary Kennedy says:

    This is a fabulous list! I’ve already bought CHANGING MY MIND and LIT and am looking forward to reading the others. And I definitely want to buy Ken Auletta’s GOOGLED, I loved his book on the TV networks (THREE BLIND MICE) and his book on Ted Turner, he’s a terrific writer. Thanks so much for posting this, I can see some great Christmas gifst on this list!

  3. Gail Kaplan says:

    There’s many more that I would add to this list:
    The Center of the Universe by Nancy Bachrach,
    Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure by Matthew Algeo,
    Provenance by Laney Salisbury and Aly Sujo,
    American Eve by Paula Uruburu,
    The Painter’s Chair by Hugh Howard,
    Closing Time by Joe Queenan,
    The Lost City of Z by David Grann

  4. I also loved ‘Picking Cotton’ by Jennifer Thompson-Cannino, Ronald Cotton and Erin Torneo. Even though I knew how the story would turn out, it was written as a page turner. I finished it in a couple days, and everyone I’ve given it to has also finished it very quickly.

  5. Kate B. says:

    Harriet Reisen’s Louisa May Alcott biogrpahy is one of the best books I’ve read this year, and perhaps the best biography I’ve EVER read.

  6. Mary Kennedy says:

    The PBS special? I’ve got to check that out and TIVO it. And I’ve been meaning to read Harriet Reisen’s bio of Louise May Alcott, glad that Kate B. recommended it.

  7. […] Still not convinced? We at BookPage enjoyed this book so much that it made it onto our list of 2009’s Top 10 Nonfiction books. […]

  8. glad you included Ken Auletta’s Googled in the list. its been missing from so many lists.

  9. Sohbet says:

    Hey Admin! Thanks, Forever web pages..

  10. Sports do not build character, they reveal it

  11. sohbet says:

    Nice article and insight. Good to have bumped onto your blog and met you.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

